Bits and Pieces

I’ve done a lot of sewing this week and despite my best efforts, haven’t posted any of it! So, you’ll excuse me while I cram three posts into one!

First up-my apron for work. As many of you know, I’ve been blissfully employed at Wish Upon a Quilt for the last couple of months. With the infamous Stash Dash coming up next week, we’re all making aprons to show our personalities. Now, I have to admit, I hate aprons. I don’t know why, I just do. Everyone was choosing these frou frou patterns with embellishments and cute-sy things and I just…well yuck. Then, one of my co-workers came in with this pattern. While I’m still not a fan of aprons-I really like how mine came out! ESPECIALLY since the Wolfpack DOMINATED last night-GO PACK!

 

Forgive the dirty mirror-I have no excuse.

Full disclosure: I had a lot of trouble lining up the geometric pattern. By a lot, I mean, I ruined my first cut and my darling husband had to help me cut the second one. By second one, I mean I had to piece two pieces together—ON THE CENTER WHITE LINE THAT IS LITERALLY ONE MILLIMETER THICK!

Big ups to my Hubs on his MAD cutting skills! Go on-look and see if you can tell. I can already tell you, you can’t. He’s awesome.

I also whipped up Juile H’s Bee Blocks for September. She wanted us to make blocks for quartered squares, ala Film in the Fridge. One block was 13″ and the other needed to be 5″. Here’s what I came up with.

I really like the little one!

And…for my final trick…the strings are done! Ok, they’re all sewn up. They’re not done. I’ll post all about it once it’s all put together, but the sun was hitting these are exactly the right angle and I couldn’t resist snapping a pic!

Alrighty, then. That’s it for the week-I’ll see ya’ll after the holidays!

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in Bee Blocks, Finished Projects 2010, Other Sewing, string and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bits and Pieces

  1. Joanna's Mom says:

    WOW- you have done so much since I have checked in! The blocks are gorgeous. Andrew is unbelievable…can’t tell!!!

  2. terriaw says:

    Love how you solved the apron dilemma by making something that you can be YOU in! Perfect choice! Those bee blocks look fun to make. Love love love your string blocks, which are going to make a stunning quilt!

Comments are closed.