I have to tell you…

…it’s not that I don’t want to finish it. It isn’t that I’m perplexed or perturbed. The thing is, I kinda like this guy hanging over my landing. It adds color to my very large, very white walls. We’re going to paint (we even have a contractor now!) just not today.

Hangin'

So, instead of finishing my quilt top, I put together my yoga mat bag. I bought the fabric almost a month ago (You know those purchases, the ones at 2am when you just HAVE to make something!) and it has been calling my name ever since then. There are a variety of things that have stopped me but they aren’t interesting so I’ll spare you!

Anyway, I keep telling myself I need to do a serious post about yoga and yoga in my life and I keep putting it off because there is so much to say. In the interest of staying true to the fact that I have a lot to say, but no one to really listen, here’s a 2-second overview. I love yoga. I’m what most would call a noodle. I’ve been doing yoga for YEARS. I love my new studio. I’m learning about myself and it’s fantastic. Whew! Now I don’t have to do a whole yoga post. (If you do want to know more, leave me a comment and I’ll email you back!)

I used this pattern (scroll down to almost the end) from Amy Butler’s website and the Sandlewood fabric from her Love Home Dec collection. I do believe I will be the most stylish girl at yoga tomorrow morning!

Nigella Yoga Bag

I was surprised at how easy this was to put together! I’ve never sewn with her home dec fabric before and the “twill sateen” was really great to sew with. Check that. I broke a needle (in THREE pieces!), cussed, realized I needed a jeans needle and THEN it was great. On a semi-related note, has anyone ever WASHED any of the Love home dec fabric? Does it matter or am I going to kick myself for not pre-washing? Perhaps I just need to resign myself to the fact that my yoga mat bag may be dry clean only.

I also (re)confirmed that I hate circles. I did better than I usually do, but that may be due to an over abundance of pins…   Whatever works, right?

::steam:: circles.

I apologize in advance for my pictures. I may or my not be exceedingly lazy about that particular aspect of blogging. My new sewing room, for all its wonderful light and great workspace, is NOT good for pictures. Go figure. Consequently, the number of pretty, outside pictures you’re going to get is going to shrink. Whoops. AND my yoga mats (yes, there are multiples) are in my car and I wasn’t about to run downstairs and get them just to prove a point. (You get the point, right? A yoga mat goes in there!)

Pretty, pretty bag!

That’s it! Ta-daaaa!!! I’m psyched! I love my bag (it even has pockets!) and I can’t wait to use it. Unfortunately, I don’t think I can be finished just yet, though. I have my own eye pillow (handmade, of course) that I’ve been using a for a while and now I don’t think it is cute enough to hang with the new bag. I may have to remedy that situation before class tomorrow!

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in Finished Projects 2011, General Happiness, Other Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I have to tell you…

  1. Pingback: Dresden Daydreams | Homemade Pineapple Marshmallows's Blog

  2. Jennifer says:

    Love your dresdens- so pretty in that layout too. I’ve got a stack of those waiting to be finished…

  3. Pingback: FREAKING AWESOME (almost) Friday! | Homemade Pineapple Marshmallows's Blog

  4. I’m so impressed with your skills! I love the quilts hanging on walls. I hope you put it back up there after the paint!

  5. Joanna's Mom says:

    Super fantastic…can’t wait to hear how heads turn when you walk into class with your new bag!

    • Jenny says:

      Totally agree. Your dresdens look gorgeous up there. Wait until the paints ready to go up and then take it down and finish it.

      Love your yoga bag. Are you going to make more? One for each mat?

Comments are closed.