For the life of me, I don’t understand…flowers.

You may want to be sitting down (ok, you probably are, seeing as you’re reading) but perhaps you should put down what you’re drinking. Honestly, what I’m about to tell you has sent even the nicest of people tut-tutting, tongue-clucking and head-shaking away from me. Maybe it is because I’m terrified of bees. (I’m not exaggerating. I can’t even hear the sound of those evil wings beating on a TV without my heart racing out of my chest.) I suppose it could be because I’m allergic to grass and trees and those flower-y things make me sneeze. Whatever it is-I don’t like flowers.

SHOCK! GASP!!

I’ll let you recover because I’m sure you didn’t listen to me and are now choking on your coffee. I don’t. Like. Flowers. Here’s the kicker though…I adore PICTURES of flowers! PICTURES are pretty and bright and distinctly MINUS bees and allergens. I have pictures of flowers all over my house and I take tons of flower pictures (many of which are currently clogging my hard drive).

Trouble is…my husband is a gardener. He LOVES working outside and has all kinds of flowers and things. Consequently, we have lots of bees (thank goodness for my FULLY screened in porch!) and lots of pollen! He’d tell you that it is all worth it…but I have to tell you, I’m just not so sure about the flowers. (I’ll tell you about my adoration of our vegetable garden another day…TOTALLY different story there.)

However, spring is in the air and there would be something wrong with me if I didn’t get an eensy bit excited about the flowers and things popping up around my yard. So, I stuck in my ear buds, turned on my iPod and went outside with Layla to take pictures of all of our flowers! (Just for you! You should feel special!) I snapped happily until the bees around the azaleas were loud enough to hear OVER my music and I called it quits. And by calling it quits, you should know, I ran inside flipping out and shaking while Layla chased me wondering how to play this new “game.”

Alrighty, enough with the talking! Here are the flowers!

RhododendronWallflowers (purple)Wallflowers (yellow)ColumbineThe HostaI have no idea...puple flower?
Lilac White flowers?Azalea (pink)Azalea (white)Kale flowers! Lily of the Valley
Iris (velvet-y purple)Iris (yellow)Iris (periwinkle)Golden Rapsberry BlackberryBlackberry

Flowers, a set on Flickr.

And here’s Layla…stalking.

I'll get you my pretty.

I'll get you my pretty.

Edited: I can’t figure out how to make the flower pictures larger, as I uploaded them as an entire set from Flickr. Help?

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to For the life of me, I don’t understand…flowers.

  1. kaye says:

    Must have missed this post when you put it up. Gorgeous flowers. Oma would’ve loved the iris, me too! Layla is going to have plenty of bees to chase!

  2. Pingback: I do, however, love…veggies!! | Homemade Pineapple Marshmallows's Blog

  3. terriaw says:

    Thank you for sacrificing yourself for our sake to share pictures of all the beautiful flowers in bloom in your gardens! Would a strong dose of Claritan help you like flowers more? I adore flowers, the planting, taking care of, smelling and photographing, so your flower mosaic makes me happy. Can’t wait till our gardens are this far along in the season. Kudos to Andrew for all his hard work!

  4. Bree says:

    Hi! :) I couldn’t reply to your comment since you’re a no-reply blogger, but I wanted to make sure I shared this with you. I did update the blog post, but I didn’t want you to miss out. Here’s the tip about sewing an opening closed:

    http://keyka.typepad.com/my_weblog/2008/11/how-to-slip-stitch-a-seam-closed.html

  5. (When I clicked on the photo set, it took me to Flickr, where I could see them larger in all their glory. :) Then I clicked on the “blogged here” link below the last flower and it brought me back here.) It’s so nice to see flowers after such a long, dreary winter and a damp, cool spring. I love the blackberry flowers and the irises! And even though you don’t like flowers, I bet your house is the prettiest one on the street, thanks to Andrew’s hard work!

  6. daisysewing says:

    Gorgeous photos! I’m jealous.. I generally like flowers, but never have time to put into actually planting and taking care of them. Layla’s stalking picture…. adorable! That look is so droll :)

Comments are closed.