April and May Bee blocks!

This was my first year participating in an online bee and I have to tell you-I’ve LOVED every second of it! I even got to meet one of my bee mates last Sunday at the TMQG meeting at SPOONFLOWER! It has just been fantastic. So, as the year draws to a close for The Bee in my Bonnet, a new one opens. I was asked to join Bee Unique…Bee Knotty! So, without further ado, here are the blocks!

First up are Emily’s April blocks for the Bee in My Bonnet. She wanted 6.5″ crazy pieced blocks.

Emily's Block 1

Emily's April Block 2

Emily's April Block 3

Emily's April Block 4

Marlynn’s was the last member of the Bee in my Bonnet to go and she sent out some sweet baby flannels. Her only direction was “something that could be washed LOTS” because it is for her new baby! Congrats Marlynn! Here’s what I came up with.

Marlynn's May Block

A big thank you to ALL of the ladies in The Bee in my Bonnet-you were AMAZING!

With that finished up, I turned my attention to the block for Vickie in my new bee, Bee Unique..Bee Knotty. I must admit, these ladies have SKILLS. As soon as the first block hit the Flickr pool I was intimidated. The blocks have been c-r-a-z-y. Paper piecing, free piecing, precision, oh my! I think I may be in over my head but I’m SO excited to expand my techniques and push the envelope. I mean, I have local quilting friends now, if I get stuck I’m sure SOMEONE will come bail me out…right?

Seriously, you should go flip through some of their blocks. You’ll be impressed. Vickie wanted an asymmetrical block. One side with a fussy cut bird from Alexander Henry’s  Larkspur and the other side, a traditional block. Unfortunately, I didn’t read well enough and missed the “no applique” direction. Actually, I know I read it, I think it just didn’t register that what I wanted to do WAS applique…until it was too late. After putting SEVERAL hours into this puppy, I saw my mistake. With heart palpitating, I sent Vickie a message and showed her the block. LUCKY for me, she was totally cool with the half dresden plate I did and loved the block. &*$! This is NOT the way I wanted to make a first impression. ::sigh:: I worked SO hard to get it JUST right. I wanted the dresden side to flow onto the bird side (it does!) and I wanted the circle to be just slightly more than a half circle (asymmetry and all…you know) and it is and I wanted the birds to be wistfully looking in opposite directions (they are!) and and and. Oh well. Maybe this’ll teach me to pay better attention to directions.

Sad to see it go-but I hope you love it Vickie!

It’s a cool block though, right?

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in Bee Blocks, Bees and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to April and May Bee blocks!

  1. Kaye says:

    I am completely in love with all of the blocks you made! Your clever eye always has a unique and gorgeous spin on everything! I hope that we get to see the finished works!

  2. I love the dresden plate block. Love that fabric too. They all look great!

  3. Can I just say, for the record, I am soooooooooo glad you didn’t ‘register’ that the dresden plate is applique. I didn’t want a ‘cutsie’ appliqued bird, but your block is stunning!! It is a serious, traditional block, and I love hearing all the thought that went into it!!! That makes it even more special! Truly, it is stunning.

    (Now, about that extra fabric as punishment for your ‘naughty’ iron….. hehehe)

    Hugs!

  4. terriaw says:

    cute blocks! I adore that last one, which would be tough to give up. I am two months behind with my quilting bee, so I’m not loving it at the moment! Happy to see you always so enthusiastic about yours!

  5. daisysewing says:

    WOW! Your blocks are awesome! I especially inspired by your Be Unique… Be Knotty block! It’s so clever!!!

Comments are closed.