For the love of…

Heather.

I know I’ve been gone for a while. The truth is, I’ve been sewing my little fingers to the bone! Heather was getting married. Heather, who I love to pieces. Heather, who went to middle school with me. Heather, who lived with me in college. Heather, who has always “been there” for me. Heather, who deserves the entire world and then some…

She’s a giver. Really. She works for the North Carolina Lung Cancer Partnership. She never asks for ANYTHING and is always helping others. So, when she asked me if I could make clutches for her bridesmaids (Yes, I was one too.), of course, I said yes!

Off to the fabric store we went! She was so cute picking out fabrics for each girl (owls for a sorority sister, clean lines for the organized one, fans and polka dots for the fashionista) and I loved putting them together!

Blue and Grey

Pink and Green

Owls and Fans

Dots!

Heather’s favorite color is yellow. In fact, her bridal shoes were yellow! It just so happens that I have a LOT of yellow and grey around my house and I love how Heather’s wedding day clutch came out!

Heather's Clutch

She also sent me a couple of pictures of ribbon boutonnieres <–I still can’t spell that word without spell check. She asked (innocently), “Would these be difficult to make?” I looked at them and said (innocently), “No, of course not!”

The original.

Off we went to a different crafty establishment and got supplies. Ribbon, seed beads, pin backs, oh my!

Endless flowers.

My friends, I was wrong. Those flowers took me weeks. I made flowers on the couch (like, every night). I took flowers to my bee. I had flowers coming out of my ears.

Notice the compulsively stitched edge?

I will not say how long it took me, because it may or may not have been because I’m a little OCD and I wanted perfect edges and stitched more than was absolutely necessary. It could also have been because I had three (or seven) different versions to try out!

The groom wore this one!

I will say though, those flowers are NEVER coming undone. I hand stitched each flower to the one beneath it. The beads are triple threaded together. The leaves are sewn to the backs. The pin backs were sewn to the felt backs and hot glued within an inch of their life.

I love the plaid!

A toddler could play with the thing and it will not come apart. Just sayin’! I have to tell you though, all said and done…it almost makes me wish I had them at our wedding.

Almost.

::sigh:: I love them all hanging together!

Heather got married last Saturday. She was stunning. As in, lose your breath stunning. I was so honored to be a part of the wedding and thrilled that I got to help out with something so special. We wish you all the best, Mr. and Mrs. Hooper!!

Heather's Bridal Portrait by Nicole Faby.

Photo by Nicole Faby.

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in Finished Projects 2011, General Happiness, Helping Out and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to For the love of…

  1. XOXOXXOXOXO I love you!!!!

  2. Kaye says:

    Absolutely amazing! The clutches are gorgeous and the flowers…Oh My Goodness…crazy great!

  3. Sarah Cummings says:

    You are too sweet for doing this! I LOVE mine :)

  4. You are an awesome friend. She is a beautiful bride. Those flowers are super. The clutches are adorable. (Did you use the Noodlehead pattern?)
    You’ve been BUSY! :)

  5. terriaw says:

    Wow, you really have been super busy these days! I love it! I adore all these wonderful bags you made. What a treat. And Heather looks so beautiful in her wedding photo. Such an honor to be a part of such a special day. Thanks for sharing all your fabulous handmade goodies with us – You do great work!

Comments are closed.