A Mendocino Zig Zag Quilt

I’ve been wanting to try a zig zag quilt since I bought Denyse Schmidt’s book a few months back. The problem is, I like looking at my fabric piles (I love piles!) and I’m still not good enough at sewing and quilting to say “sure, I’ll cut in to the fabric…it’ll come out perfectly and be gorgeous and there won’t be any problems.” Sometimes I think my blog’s name should be “Things I learned NOT to do along the way…” Having said that, I have a ton of Mendocino fabrics as I mentioned in my previous post and I only want to use the coral-y ones at the moment. I’ve been looking and looking [read: obsessing and absorbing any and all tutorials, pictures, etc.] and found several tutorials and examples I like.

Mendocino and Amy Butler Solid

I’m ready. Ok, I THINK I’m ready to stop being a chicken.

The other problem is, I can’t decide which direction I’m going to take it.

  • I like the half square triangles here at a quilt is nice, she’s got a tutorial and she use some of the same prints I’m using so I can easily visualize.
  • I also like the simplistic, yet striking quilting and contrast in Film in the Fridge’s mini quilt.
  • Then there is option three, the no triangle method here at Bee Square, here.

I have two goals tomorrow. Go to services in the morning with the Hubs and sew. Updates to follow! Perhaps I’ll learn something else that will make you laugh.

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in fabric, Late Nights, quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Mendocino Zig Zag Quilt

  1. Pingback: SnowDay, Sew Day (I can’t believe it’s STILL not “finished”). « Homemade Pineapple Marshmallows's Blog

  2. Halfway Crafter says:

    Just to add another option I am currently trying my first quilt, a zig-zag made with half square triangles from a tutorial by Amy at parkcitygirl.blogspot.com. It’s been easy to follow and I (touch wood) haven’t had too many dramas so far!

Comments are closed.