My Sewing Philosphy (Laugh with Me)

As I was working on my Mendocino Zig Zag Quilt last night (and after several mistakes, which I like to call “learning opportunities”) I was prompted to explain my philosophy on sewing to my husband. You see, I’d “messed up” a set of stripes in the zig zags (that his engineering brain would have caught before mine even registered that I needed to pay attention) and he was shocked that I didn’t understand his directions “make sure you look at your fabric.” I did look; I double checked it in fact to be sure I sewed it exactly like the first. Well, I should have turned it sideways to have them match up…whatever, it looks nice now.

So he’s sitting there, amazed that I’m not upset and I felt compelled to let him in on my philosophy, whether or not he (or you) wanted it. And remember, when explaining one’s philosophy on sewing to other people-do not be offended when they look at you like a dog listens to a high pitched noise. The [insert side of brain here-I can’t keep straight which is which, that makes me one side, I just can’t remember which it is] people have a hard time grasping the “fly by the seat of your pants, it’ll work out” mantra. Give them time and space and they’ll love you for who you are anyway.

My philosophy on sewing is this: no one in my family sews (strike one), I am horrible at math (strike two), I don’t see in straight lines (a genetic thing and strike three) and given these circumstances I’m doing fairly well. By modern sports accounts, I should be heading back to the batter’s box, but I’m not. I love the fabric, I enjoy the process, I laugh at my mistakes and hope that somewhere along the line my mistake or “creative difference with the fabric” will turn out to be something pretty (AND IT ALMOST ALWAYS DOES)! I don’t ever feel like I’m ruining it (with the exception of free motion quilting-I suck at it and I’m going to take a class) because it is all a part of the journey.

And that, my friends, is why I’m allowed to start sentences with “and” and sewing is fun even when you’re not technically good at it 🙂

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in General Happiness, Late Nights, Other Sewing, quilts, Totally Random and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Sewing Philosphy (Laugh with Me)

  1. Becky says:

    I think your philosophy is SPOT on and I share it for my own reasons. I look at the many errors in all my work, not just as learning experiences, but necessary to make the quilt absolutely unique. 😀

    Yesterday is the first time I have decided not to (well, I’m still on the fence but leaning toward not to) finish a project and call it a true practice piece. MAybe I’ll quick bind with bias strips and put it in the dog bed. It can be appreciated that way and I can count it as a finish. -wink-

    • Joanna says:

      I love that my blog allows like minded people to connect! Dog bed here you come! I have tons of homemade napkins serving that same purpose-they’re finished 🙂

Comments are closed.