A Crafty Valentine’s…

Evidently newlyweds aren’t as out of sync with each other as everyone keeps telling us! The Hubs and I got similar themed presents for each other aaannndd we did really well, if I do say so myself.

About a month ago I was reading Ashley’s post about patchwork pillows and fell hopelessly in love with Laurie’s new fabric. Now you all know my husband likes sheep…and these were too cute to pass up.

If you know me, you know I’m horrible at keeping presents. I buy them and I immediately want to give them. I’ve had this since JANUARY and it has been K-I-L-L-I-N-G me! Good news is, he likes it. I also got him a gift certificate to our LQS so he could find some matching fabric.

What I’m really proud of though, is his “card.” I wanted to make one of the scrappy hearts a la so much for my plans. BUT…it didn’t go my way. I used leftover fabrics from our napkins and placemats (because they were our wedding colors and that’s just sweet) and some flannel because I thought it would be nice and snuggly. I don’t even know where to begin…it all went wrong. First the scraps wouldn’t go together well, then I realized the tension on my machine was out (PS-NO clue how to fix that or even what’s wrong), then I cut out a lopsided heart, then I sewed the wrong pieces of fabric together…THEN Hubs came home from the grocery store early. At that point I was SO done that I “quick sewed” the rest of it together (used Steam-A-Seam to cheat on one side) and went for the letters. Except I forgot the tension on my machine was busted. One ugly “L,” one handstiched “O,” one decent “V,” and a half completed “E” later, we have perfection. Or at least…well just read the back.

And I do love him!

So sweet it hurts...I know 😛

The Hubster did really well too! He got me a CUSTOM box of chocolates from Godiva. YUM! Strawberry Cheesecake, Key Lime Pie, Strawberry White Chocolate, Milk Chocolate Clams…Y-U-M! It’s funny because we were watching tv the other night and the Russel Stover commercial came on and the girl said “Everyone wants that heart-shaped box.” To which I said…”FYI, I don’t want the heart sha…” and he said “WAIT!! Don’t tell me! I know what to get.” Evidently it is all the more sweet if he knows he’s got it right without help. Oh yes. He did!

I’m also not one for flowers…I mean I dig a flower painting (the one below is one he painted as present)

Sea Daffodils from 2007

and the odd lily every now and then, but I don’t like the way they smell and I’m allergic to most of them. SOOO he got me a Spoonflower gift certificate! I cannot wait to use this baby! Maybe I’ll be able to get him to paint one just for turning into fabric!

Happy Wednesday ya’ll!

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in Finished Projects 2010, General Happiness, Other Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.