Holy Half-Square Triangles Batman!

I’m sorry, I just couldn’t help myself. I have great memories of Batman from my childhood.

We had all kinds of family around the ol’ house-a-roo this week. My father blew through on Wednesday to drop off our house-warming present.

A NEW STOVE!! I H-A-T-E-D our old one and in removing the it we found another little treasure left over from the house’s previous owner-tacky wallpaper!

eww

In all seriousness though, I’m in love with my new appliance!!

My husband’s family was here over the weekend and as it turns out, his mom and sister spent a large chunk of their time working on her wedding dress upstairs in my bonus room, while my husband, his little brother and his father spent quality time with our backyard. This left me to my sewing room-which was just fine with me!

I decided I was going to make a pink and green quilt a while back and I’ve been wanting to try out that diamond-y half-square triangle pattern since the second I saw it. Little did I know how many flipping HST’s 168+ really is.

First there were stacks.

Then there were chains.

There was some progress.

Some HST's finished, stacks getting smaller...progress, yes?

And some “When is this ever going to be over?”

not.happening.fast.enough!

FINALLY I had a shit ton (sorry Mom) of HST’s.

Which turned into this.

Bad lighting...but oh so pretty!

My husband helped me rearrange them and we finally decided with THIS many blocks we could make ourselves crazy looking over our balcony trying to make them “look right” (and possibly having to kill the dog because he thinks any fabric covered surface is his) OR we could say “Yep, that looks nice.” And that, was that.

Then I came to the harrowing realization that this thing has to be stored because after all the sewing I did this weekend, I’m not ready to string all these suckers together quite yet. I’m actually proud of our idea, they’re all rolled up around an old (batting covered) shower curtain rod!

My goal for the coming week is to attempt to start sewing all these rows together. Sugary sewing sweetness Batman! (heh heh) I’ll keep you posted.

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in General Happiness, quilts, WIP and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Holy Half-Square Triangles Batman!

  1. Pingback: The Pink and Green Quilt a.k.a. Jennifer and Brandon’s Quilt « Homemade Pineapple Marshmallows's Blog

  2. Kaye says:

    Oh My G-D you guys are awesome. This is such a beautiful design! When I had to keep the banners I made neat, I used to get an empty roll from the carpet store. They might be able to cut it if you need. I rolled the banner on i,t backside out. Always neat, clean and wrinkle free!

  3. terriaw says:

    Your new stove is gorgeous, but that quilt?! Omg, it looks stunning! What a beautiful project. I have seen this quilt pattern before, but didn’t realize it was made with HST. How easy is that! Love it!

Comments are closed.