New beginnings, part two.

My very first post ever was about new beginnings. This blog was created to help me remember that there ARE happy things in life and since this is a place only for happy things and thoughts I’m only going to tell you the happy side of this story. Believe you me, there’s a sad side, but there is no point in depressing everyone.

I quit my job! {shock, gasp} I’ve been a teacher for the better part of 2 years and it has been one of the most challenging jobs I’ve ever had. I don’t need to elaborate but I will say, teachers are beyond overworked and desperately underpaid and you can plain forget it at all if you get sick. I got sick. I stayed sick. In the last two years I’ve been on over 20 courses of antibiotics. I’m looking forward to getting HEALTHY.

Believe it or not, that’s not why I left. I left because there are people in this world who have too much power and no one ever stands up to them. I guess I’m never going to be one of those sweet, quiet women. Sometimes I wish I could keep my mouth shut, but in this case-(and excuse my language) they can kiss the fattest part of my butt. I’m looking forward to having my own opinion again.

I’m going to miss my children and I know they’re going to miss me. I’m going to miss my colleagues and friends at school. They made me cry all week with notes, letters, cards, pineapples, flowers, special gifts, and one very, very beautiful cake.

From my Wonderful Words class, complete with fondant Scrabble tiles and my very own chocolate and vanilla dictionary.

So, goodbye Mrs. Hody and welcome back Joanna. I’m ready to take some time, hug on my husband, get healthy, sew, work on our house and who knows what else. I know it hurts now but I also know I’ll come out of this stronger, happier, with my eyes open and my head held high.

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in General Happiness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New beginnings, part two.

  1. Margaret and Lyndsey!!!! says:

    That’s our cake we made!!! WE MISS U MS HODY!!!! I wish u could come back!!!

    u have taught us well,

    lyndsey & margaRet

    {Really? I thought all my students knew that I NEVER accept abbreviated “you!” 🙂 I miss you guys too!}

  2. Kaye says:

    I have tears in my eyes thinking of the pain that you must be in. Just know that we love you, believe in you and are looking forward to seeing a Happier, Healthier, Joanna!

  3. terriaw says:

    Congratulations to you, Joanna! I am so proud of you for standing up for yourself! Also envious too because I dream of that day when I can say “take this job and shove it!” I admire people who stand up for themselves like this. You probably already feel better about yourself. Just imagine all that you can get done now. Enjoy your 24-7 free time!

Comments are closed.