WIP Wednesday

On my very first Wednesday as an unemployed woman, I wanted to do a “Wordless Wednesday” post However, I’m not quite capable of putting up pictures without words (at least not until a project is done). So here’s what I’m working on.

The pink and green quilt…oy. I’m going to do a “tell all” when the quilt is done, but here’s a little taste of what I’ve done (and undone) so far. Also, please forgive the bad lighting in all of these pictures…I have no good excuse.

Sing with me!

Remember that song, “one of these things is not like the other…?” Do you SEE the problem here? Ok, first let me tell you, I did that with the ENTIRE first two rows. I wasn’t going to tell anyone. Evidently, I wanted a quilt full of diagonal rows rather than diamonds. So I sat down and ripped out all of those seams, turned the squares around and reassembled. Game over, no one would be the wiser. Right? THEN I DID IT AGAIN! I wanted to SMACK myself. I couldn’t believe, after all that pain and suffering, I did it twice (well, three times actually). So as a punishment and hopefully a lesson to myself, I’m telling you.

Fixed.

Here’s where I am now. All rows are sewn together. Half are pressed. Half are not. Hopefully I’ll have a top all sewn up soon, then I’m planning on quilting it to echo the diagonals. Now I just have to find a backing fabric.

pressed

not pressed

AND this came in the mail for me today! I’m going to ATTEMPT to make one of these beauties for my sister-in-law’s wedding in a few weeks. We’ll see how it goes 🙂

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in quilts, WIP and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to WIP Wednesday

  1. Pingback: The Pink and Green Quilt a.k.a. Jennifer and Brandon’s Quilt « Homemade Pineapple Marshmallows's Blog

  2. quiltiferous says:

    The pink and green half square triangles are awesome! The dress pattern looks both pretty and surprisingly non-intimidating! Will you be taking a clothing class or winging it?

  3. Kaye says:

    I am singing with you! How beautiful! Can’t wait to see the dress!

  4. Xandi Hamilton says:

    Thanks for sharing your mistakes! It really makes me feel better about trying something new and then forgiving myself when it is not “perfect”.

  5. terriaw says:

    Will you make me an evening dress like that too? I totally want one, but don’t know when I’ll have time to make one. It looks like you made great progress on your quilt, even with the oops moments. I did the same thing when I made a zig-zag quilt, so I can related to wanting to smack yourself. It’s looking great so far, so keep going – you can do it!

Comments are closed.