Happy (early) Mother’s Day!

Before you yell at me for posting this early, I’ve talked to my mother and she KNOWS that I’m blogging about her present. I EVEN called and asked permission. For those of you who don’t know me personally, here’s a little Joanna tidbit…I hate surprises and I’m TERRIBLE at keeping them. SO-without further ado, I give you my Mommy’s present.

Done! Pinned to my wall. (SHH, don't tell my husband!)

Pretty cute huh? I bought it as a panel at my LQS (love ’em!) and finished it this past weekend during my TMQG sewing bee. It is a Leanika pattern and I LURVE Leanika!

So why an apron, you ask? My mom LOVES aprons. In fact, I’m currently plotting to steal her most favorite {read: hideously ugly and beat up} old blue one (YesΒ  Mom, the one with yellow binding.) and cut it up to make a pattern so I can customize a pretty new one for her. Anyway, she is always hunting for an apron in my house (because she didn’t pass this love of aprons on to me) and is shocked when I don’t have one for her. So my idea is, in exchange for this gorgeous new one, she’ll give me the ugly blue one to keep at my house. heh.heh.heh.

So here it is!

Yep, that's me. Grungy clothes, no makeup and doggie πŸ™‚

The pattern didn’t call for the d-rings at the neck, but I thought that they would make it much easier to adjust and take on and off. As you can see, I haven’t cut and anchored the strap yet. I need a real neck to measure it on and since I’m at least 4 inches shorter than my Mom, I can’t measure on myself!

I also added the adorable flower ribbon button accents at the neck. They’ll provide stability for the strap and they’re just cute!

So…whaddya think?

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in Bees, Finished Projects 2010, Other Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy (early) Mother’s Day!

  1. emma says:

    Love it! My favorite colors. I found a website http://www.toadusew.com they sell downloadable quilt patterns, kits and fabric. I will have to see if I can find something like this around. Where did you find the pattern?

  2. Meghan says:

    This looks amazing! Love the button/ribbon flower detail πŸ™‚

  3. terriaw says:

    I love it! I see your mom loves it too… and your sister. How cool is that. I know what you mean, I have a hard time keeping secrets too. My mom loves aprons and bought me a Christmas apron panel to make for her, which she wears a lot. Love the d-rings you added and the adorable flowers. Wonderful mother’s day gift idea! (my mom requested a purse)

  4. Your Little Sister says:

    No worries. She didn’t pass on her love of aprons to me either. I can’t count how many of them I have tossed. Remember she likes to be able to tie the waist in the front πŸ™‚

  5. Joanna's Mom says:

    OH MY GOODNESS!!! I love it! I can’t wait to try it out!!!

    Yes, sigh, grumble, sob…I will let you have my other one. You do realize that I have had it since YOU were a baby, right???

  6. daisysewing says:

    Lovely! My favorite are the little ribbon flowers πŸ™‚ Your mom is so lucky!
    xo, Julie

Comments are closed.