(FANTASTIC) Fabric Friday!

Do you have one of those friends who starts to say something (like “FABRIC FRIDAY!), then goes in a totally opposite direction with their conversation? No? Well now you do, because I’m one of those people. Bear with me, I’ll get to the fabric!

We moved into our house a YEAR ago and aside from fixing the porch and painting our bathroom, we’ve done nothing in the way of home improvement. BUT NOT for long! I’ve finally convinced The Hubster to let me hire a painter and paint the downstairs (INCLUDING the master bedroom)! Why a painter you ask? Because we have 20-some-odd foot cathedral ceilings and even with my TALLEST ladder, I’m about 6 feet too short to get to the top. Anyway, for the master, we’re thinking a really rich, slate-y grey. Calming, peaceful, soothing, everything you’d need in a bedroom.

SO, naturally, I’ve picked out fabrics. Actually, it happened more like this: I was at work and searching through remnants for a [now abandoned] unnamed project. I found an AWESOME mustard-y yellow and grey fabric. I fell in love and bought it. Now I’m on a mission. ONE problem. I had no real mission. I just wanted fabric. So, a mission I created! It is TIME to paint the house! Problem solved. Enter new problem: mustard yellow and grey are NOT the most common colors. In fact, they’re pretty damn UNcommon. In spite of that fact, I’m doing fairly well finding things to match. I’ve had to give in and include some “true” yellows in lieu of all mustard, but short of robbing Grey Poupon and stealing merchandise (Oh, I know they have mustard colored fabric SOMEWHERE in that place!), I’ll have to settle for some yellow variation.

Now, here’s the funny part. I look HORRIBLE in yellow. I mean, put this stuff up to my skin and I look the exact same color. I’ll  just have to remember to keep grey around the edges of my quilt so I won’t look jaundiced in the middle of the night and scare my husband! ::sigh:: The things we do for craft-y love!

The Yellows:

The third from the left (ivory background) is the one that started it all!

The Greys:

*squeal* I love the elephants!

All together:

Can't you see this on our bed?

Perhaps (just a few!) others?

Whatddya think? Any ideas for a quilt style? I have so many ideas! Maybe a giant Dresden plate? Half-square triangles? Square in square blocks? Long stripes? I just don’t know!  Opinions please!

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in fabric, Nesting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to (FANTASTIC) Fabric Friday!

  1. Pingback: WIP Wednesday | Homemade Pineapple Marshmallows's Blog

  2. That’s a great combination of fabrics! I’ve used many of them myself, in this quilt
    http://naptimequilter.blogspot.com/2010/01/quilt-along-week-7-all-done.html
    If I were to do it again I would use less of the blue though.

  3. Angie says:

    I love the color scheme–actually just purchased some yardage of the Echino Gecko (Lizard? Salamander?) print in exactly the same color scheme (mustardy background, grey lizards), so fun.

    I came over from the Anna Maria Flickr group–love your version of the dress. I am on the short side, too, so wondered how that dress would look on a petite model. 🙂

  4. Meghan says:

    Gorgeous fabrics! Horizontal stripes and stacked coins look really nice as bed quilts. Dresden plates would be really fun, too, though! Oh, or big HSTs could make a cool diamond effect with gray vs. yellow values… Haha, guess I’m not much help at narrowing down design ideas, but I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  5. terriaw says:

    Gorgeous fabric combos! How fun to get to play like this! I think these would look fabulous in a dresden plate block or the square in a square block would really set off the colors. Whatever you decide, learn something new!

  6. Joanna says:

    To answer Ana’s question (using the third picture, starting at left):

    Orchid Leaf from “Ginsing” by Joel Dewberry
    Baby Paisley from “The Rainbow Garden by Prints Charming
    Optic Blossom from “Midwest Modern” by Amy Butler
    Annabelle by Grey Sky Studios for In the Beginning
    Park Fountains from Midwest Modern II by Amy Butler
    Taxi from “Forest” by Alice Kennedy for Timeless Treasures
    Thistle Leaf from “Hope Valley” by Denise Shcmidt
    Martini Dots from “Midwest Modern” by Amy Butler
    Floating Blossoms from “Midwest Modern” by Amy Butler
    Clover by Kaffe Fassett for Westminster Fibers
    Dandelion from “Flora and Fauna” for Michael Miller
    Essentials by Danhui Nai for Wilmington Prints
    D’s Selection “Tip Top” (Japanese)

    The bottom three pictures should link to themselves on Etsy!

  7. Joanna's Mom says:

    What about a headboard while you are at it???

    Fabrics are beautiful and you are NOT wearing them, you can roll down the comforter before going to bed! Gotta run, Sherlock is barking!

    • ana says:

      Hi,i am spanish girl and my english is to bad. But i see you blog and i love it. I see this fabrics and i like know what is his name. I want buy this i like it. Please help me because i can not find it. Thanks and sorry for my english

Comments are closed.