Bee Blocks-August

This month is Julie’s over at Daisy Sewing. She asked for blocks akin to two quilts from  Jacquie of Tallgrass Prairie Studio fame. She wanted them to be framed in a satin-y purple, but save that, she gave us free rein.

I wanted to do something special because (though, I know it’s what she wants) I would feel like I cheated if I sent her a block with a total of four seams. So, I did what I seem (HAH!) to be doing best. I embroidered her something! She’s Julie of DAISY sewing (embroidering is sewing, right?)! I drew out a daisy (yes, I drew it all by myself with my nifty new transfer pencil) and ironed that sucker onto the grey solid. I stitched it with the FULL six strands of a pretty cream-colored DMC floss and built my block around it. {Tangent: I was and always will be a class doodler. Even as a teacher, I found myself doodling. I have two go-to doodle pictures: a daisy and a pineapple. Go figure. Anyway, all those years spent drawing a lazy daisy seemed to have paid off.}

Disclaimer: Please forgive all the lighting in these pictures. They’re all done at night, in a hallway with no light; not exactly optimal for photographing. However, I want this to be DONE, tonight. So bad photos notwithstanding, I’m done (and proud).

Detail on the Daisy

Overall, a simple but very pretty block.

The Daisy Block

The second block was totally improv. I have no rhyme or reason to what I did. I kept adding blocks and frames until I hit 12.5 inches. Now, for those of you who know me, you’ll know how out of the ordinary this is for me. I’m a planner. I may not be a good planner, but I’m a planner. I changed the setting of this block three times and I couldn’t decide whether the large rectangle should be vertical or horizontal and and and…yeah, I freaked a little but I got through it. I really like this block! I think the framed flowers look like they’re popping out from behind someone’s kitchen curtain. Not perfectly aligned, just peeking in at you like they would through a real window.

Blokus.

I left the blocks slightly larger than the 12.5″ x 12.5″ she requested because I thought they could be “squared” in a couple of different ways. I’ll get them in the mail to you tomorrow Julie; I hope you like them!

Off to you, Julie!

Happy Monday (Tuesday), ya’ll!

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in Bee Blocks, Bees, embroidery and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bee Blocks-August

  1. terriaw says:

    Wow, these blocks are so stunning! I love all the thought and planning you put into these. I’m sure your partner appreciates that. The embroidered daisy is just icing on the cake!

  2. emma says:

    Love these blocks and the flower is beautiful!! Well done! I found a great website called http://www.toadusew.com they have all types of unique and creative downloadable quilt patterns and a great selection of all types of kites, quilt patterns, just about everything even fabric. If you are ever looking for some creative quilt patterns or just want to be inspired you should check this site out!

  3. Janet says:

    I love them! I like the way the flowers peek out the windows, and I’m kinda into daisies myself.

  4. daisysewing says:

    I love them! I can’t believe you drew the daisy free hand – it is so perfect 🙂 And thank you so much for going out of your comfort-zone with the improv block! I think it is so much fun! I feel so touched by the trouble you went to and I can’t wait to get them!

    Love, Julie

  5. Meghan says:

    Joanna these are gorgeous! I especially like the embroidery.

Comments are closed.