Busy Girl for the Baby Girl!

The last week has been a whirlwind! High Holiday services (Shana Tovah ya’ll!), family visits, baby showers…whew!

Even with all the distractions, I carved out some time to sew. Ok-so I had a finite deadline in the form of a baby shower…but who’s keeping track? Remember the quilt top and binding I showed you last week? Finished! Super late at night, mind you, which is when the pictures were taken. (Forgive the shadows!)

Quilted!

I can’t tell you how sweet it turned out! I didn’t want to quilt it too much since it is for a baby and softness is key! I used a straight line on either side of the sashing seams (plus a few extra in the brown fabric-I couldn’t resist!) and that was it. The back has a stripe of the fabrics from the front and the rest is a super soft Annette Tatum print. I haven’t done the label yet-I’ll be embroidering all the stats after she’s born!

The Back (and my husband's knees)

Since this is my best friend’s first (and she’s the first of my friends to get pregnant) I’ve been going a little overboard. I also made coordinating burp cloths and a “hooter hider.” The burp cloths are just hand towels from Target with a wide stripe of the coordinate fabrics in the center. Everyone says to use the pre-fold diapers, but I looked at them and I think they’ll fall apart in a washing or two! AND isn’t that what towels are for…mopping stuff up? I made an executive decision.

Aren't they cute?

The hooter hider was slightly more complicated. Not because it was a difficult project, but because I seem to have trouble sewing in a straight line! I used this tutorial over at Blisstree. I’m not sure how well it works, but then again, I’ve never nursed a baby.

Hooters...hidden?

I wanted to wrap everything in a basket with tulle…but I found myself out of tulle the night before. The best laid plans, right? Of course, I forgot to take pictures at the shower, but here’s a shot of everything all wrapped up in the front of my Mini!

"Wrapped" and ready!

It was a lovely shower and they’re going to be wonderful parents. She’s going to be quite the lucky baby girl and I can’t wait to meet her!

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in Finished Projects 2010, Finished Quilts, Other Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Busy Girl for the Baby Girl!

  1. Emma says:

    Love the colors and pattern for the baby quilt and that everything matches that is the plus of making thing your self!

  2. Joanna's Mom says:

    Wow, I am just amazed at what you have made, they are all so beautiful! The burp pads look so soft and sturdy and look like they could absorb the world! The hooter hider is awesome, it has come a long way from the blanket that I used! The quilt shows the love that you put into it, absolutely gorgeous from corner to corner! Very lucky best friend and family!

  3. terriaw says:

    Your quilt turned out beautiful! I love the quilting design you chose, which looks really cool on the back too. What a fabulous package you put together for your friend – lucky to have you for a friend!

  4. Meghan says:

    Lovely! The burp cloths look amazingly soft!

  5. Jennifer says:

    Cuteness overload 🙂 Everything looks fabulous Joanna!

  6. Sarah says:

    “hooter hider”–I’m speechless! With admiration of course. The stuff looks great as always. L’shana tova to you and Andrew. Hugs.

Comments are closed.