Rectangle Stringy-ness!

The rectangle String Quilt is done! It isn’t perfect, but I’m warming up to it. I tried out a lot of new things in this one. It’s got pieced batting, mitered borders and the ENTIRE thing is out of scraps! (Sometimes this didn’t work out so well…but it is what it is.)

I quilted it with concentric diamonds inside the big diamonds using my walking foot and bar. I’ve never used it before, so I was a little freaked about “jumping right in” but I LOVE the way it came out!

Quilting in progress

Clipped and hanging off of one of our porch swings!

I adore the front of it. I mean, REALLY love it. I think the borders really frame it out nicely. I’m particularly happy with myself because they were improvised and very last-minute! If you look very closely in one of the corners you can see 3 or 4 pieces just to make “ends meet.” Heh. Heh.

I love the diamonds!

I cannot, for the life of me, figure out why all the little white fluff is coming out on the back. It must be one of the batting scraps I used. It doesn’t show on the lighter fabrics, but it is awful on the black prints!  It keeps coming through the stitches; I’ve never had batting do that before. Harumph!

Also, I *may* have been certainly was lazy and back-stitched instead of burying my threads. I know that you can see in this picture, but I guess it is the light because you can’t really see it in person!

See, you can't see the back-tacking but you CAN see the fuzz. But REALLY, how COOL are those diamond?

So- I’m counting this one as a learning experience. I’m frustrated with pieces of it (or pieces coming out of it) now, but I’m betting you after a few runs through the washer, perhaps a snuggle or two and I’ll forget all the little things!

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in Finished Projects 2010, Finished Quilts, quilts, string and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Rectangle Stringy-ness!

  1. Sewing Spots says:

    Love it! You did a great job and should feel proud. That’s a big project 100% complete!

  2. tejehannah says:

    Hello! Your quilt looks wonderful!!! I think it’s perfect! And I think sometimes we are too critical with our works – we make handworks so they doesn’t need to look like factory-made!
    Enjoy that you have made so lovely quilt!
    Best Wishes Teje

  3. Heather Gill says:

    LOVE IT! ADORABLE!

  4. Katie Morse says:

    Wow, Jo. This is AMAZING! Seriously, it seems like just a few months ago that you were piecing together your first quilt, and this… man – this is amazing. I’m so proud of you!!!!!!


    Katie

  5. terriaw says:

    This turned out so beautiful! I love those multiple borders you added. And the quilting pattern looks very cool on the front and the back! I tend to get lazy and back stitch my thread ends too. I love Eileen’s idea about to use black batting, which I didn’t know you could get. Makes sense, though. I bet this will look even more gorgeous when you wash it and those crinkles add even more character!

  6. Meghan says:

    Looks awesome, and the back is fantastic!

  7. eileen says:

    my friend longarmed a large black sashed and backed quilt–was going to use a natural colored cotton batting but the quilt shop suggested a black batt for it. wouldn’t have thought about doing it myself!! your quilt is just marvelous–striking combo of colors and love the diamonds front and back

  8. Lana says:

    p.s. I want that pattern!

  9. Lana says:

    I love this quilt! It’s beautiful and PERFECT!
    You did good girl!

Comments are closed.