All kinds of cards!

I know I’ve been quiet over here for a while, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been busy! Even without being back at school teaching, fall is still proving to be a hectic time!

I’ve been obsessed with stationary lately. If there’s one thing I love as much as fabric, it’s stationary. I’m a sucker for a good thank you note and monograms make me a little giddy. It seems that I’m not the only one either; I’ve seen all kinds of other stationary popping up all over the blog world!

Here’s what I’ve been playing around with.

My first set of fabric fused cards.

I made these using Steam-a-Seam, some scraps and stationary rescued from my sister’s junk pile…viola!

The reverse side.

I fused the fabric to the back, leaving the pretty pearl edge out to write on. I think they came out nicely! I’m definitely going to be making more of these, they are so fun and fast! I have to remember to switch out my stainless iron for my old one with the nonstick soleplate! I had a few unfortunate slip-ups resulting in some wordy-dirds when the steam-a-seam stuck to the plate.

On to my new loves. I’m TOTALLY crushing on these! I saw them a while back and I just…well I’m just lazy, alright? I hadn’t put needle to paper-but no more! LOOK at these puppies!


My first try...orange for fall!

I did so well, I made these…

Blue ones for my parents.

And I loved THOSE so much…I made these!

Green for the Greens!

And the side stitch-y ones…

I think these my be my faves.

My husband and I spent the better part of last week traveling around Georgia. We stopped in Atlanta to see my folks (hi Mom!) and my cousins. You can’t stay in someone’s house without a gift…right? So, I brought these cuties with us.

ll tied up with sparkly ribbons!

Both sets were received with open hands and big smiles-I’m so glad that other people like my crafty-ness too. I’m still not sure that people will like something handmade. Silly, I know, but It is nice to have such happy reactions!

After the aquarium (whale sharks, beluga whales, otters, oh my!), lots of food and two great visits in Atlanta, we went to Milledgeville for my Hubby’s college roommate’s wedding. It was beautiful, and I hope they’re having a ball in Hawaii! It’s always nice to dance the night away at a great wedding with the one you love 🙂 Aren’t we cute? (Yes, those are 5 inch heels. And, no, I’m not sorry!)

Sweetness.

That’s all folks, see ya later on in the week!

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in embroidery, Other Crafts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to All kinds of cards!

  1. Pingback: 2010. | Homemade Pineapple Marshmallows's Blog

  2. Pingback: What a Clever Girl! « Terri’s Notebook

  3. Sewing Spots says:

    It looks like you had entirely *too much fun* making stationary! Neat!

  4. terriaw says:

    What a beautiful picture of the two of you! Sounds like you had great fun over the weekend.

    Love your cards! I wish my sewing machine had decorative stitches like those. I used to make a lot of card using rubber stamps. But I want to try the fabric fusing method and the Denyse Schmidt scrappy method too.

  5. Xandi says:

    What kind of thread is that? Very cool.

  6. Sarah says:

    Love the stitchy stationary!! It’s adorable. And OF COURSE you danced the night away in those evil heels!! Hope you had fun. Welcome home to Raleigh. Hugs to you guys and the doggies.

  7. Nancy says:

    Wow, I love these. What a clever way to do cards.

Comments are closed.