Anna’s T-Shirt Quilt

I’ve been reassured by the mother of the recipient of this quilt that she doesn’t have Facebook and doesn’t read my blog…and since Chanukkah is oh, a week away, I’m not going to hold on to this any longer!

I took my first quilt commission. She’s a wonderful friend (hi Sarah!) and has the utmost confidence in me (hah!). She wanted a t-shirt quilt for her daughter. Her daughter that I’ve known for the last 6 or 7 years, that I taught to swim, that is more Harry Potter obsessed than I am, that I love to pieces, you get the picture.

Little did I know, t-shirt quilts are a pain in the butt. Enter mantra “swim, potter, love you to pieces!” This quilt has been quite the adventure and in the process of making it I’ve learned a lot of new things:

  1. You must be VERY careful when cutting out t-shirts. Otherwise you will inadvertently cut too closely to swim team members’ names, lose them in the seams and never be able to get them back. This is where you pray that it is a kid you don’t like.
  2. You should cut t-shirts ONCE. To the same size. Not doing this will result in many extra cuts and hours of “squaring up” and sashing of blocks to make all the blocks one size. However, you may decide that you love the way this looks and decide that your “design choice” (COUGHlazinessCOUGH) was the right way to go anyway.
  3. You must use interfacing. You must also iron said interfacing onto t-shirts. HOWEVER, you may not put the iron on the DECALS on the FRONT of the t-shirt or you will burn them onto your friend’s iron. You will have to buy your friend another iron.
  4. ALSO, you must learn this lesson the FIRST time, otherwise you’ll end up with white stuff on YOUR iron AND the front of your quilt. This will result in much face smacking and idiot feeling.
  5. AND ONE MORE thing about interfacing with knits. THEY SHIFT! Be super careful to line up your t-shirt and just PRESS the interfacing on. If you “iron” it like you would a regular shirt, you will stretch out the knit and you could lose a swim team member. Again, you’ll hope that this is a kid you don’t like. (I can’t remember if it was or wasn’t.)
  6. You should enlist the help of a math literate person to help you calculate sashing, border and backing fabric yardages. Failure to do so will result in much extra fabric being bought. (Lucky for you, this will allow you to make super-cute pillowcases for the recipient.)

    Bonus Pillowcases!

  7. Better yet, refer all friends to Patchwork Memories (two wonderful women in Raleigh) for future t-shirt quilts!

OK! Enough with the words, here are the pictures!!

Anna's Quilt!

I really do love this quilt. To quote (ok, paraphrase) the hubster “That doesn’t look like a t-shirt quilt, it’s really, really nice!!” I have to agree. I love the star fabric (What looks like polka dots is really itty bitty Stars of David!) and the blue sashing. I love how the yellow border pops and pulls the yellow from the blocks. I LOVE the quilting. I don’t normally spend so much time quilting (less quilting = more snuggly), but I did something different in each and every block on this one. There still isn’t a ton of thread (I mean, why do a t-shirt quilt if you’re going to make it stiff?) but there is a lot of detail. You may not be able to see it, but I quilted around the shield in the Underwood block, outlined the star, the trumpet, the UNC symbol…lots and lots of time!

The back!! Complete with bananas!

I found this awesome banana fabric at Wish. Her nickname is Anna Banana-perfect!!

My favorite, the label!

OOOH and the label. Hours and hours (5 to be specific) on the label. i.love.it.

*Note, everyone spells Chanukkah a different way. In fact, my computer is giving me three different ways to correct it at this moment! SOOOO Happy Hanukah Anna!! I hope you enjoy it and that you’ll always remember how much you are loved!

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in embroidery, Finished Projects 2010, Finished Quilts, quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Anna’s T-Shirt Quilt

  1. Pingback: Three by Three | Homemade Pineapple Marshmallows's Blog

  2. terriaw says:

    What a cool quilt! It is really beautiful! And that label, wow, gorgeous! I didn’t realize t-shirt quilts could be so complicated. You did a fabulous job with this project. Kudos to the hubby for appreciating it too!

  3. Sarah says:

    From the mother Anna: It’s just amazing. I am in love with the quilt and commentary (and of course love the maker of the quilt!). We will pick a night for Chanukah/Chanukkah/Hanukah for you and your hubby to come over. It’s just amazing. I am in awe of your talents. xoxo

  4. Joanna's Mom says:

    I am crying tears of Joy! I can imagine how excited Anna will be when she sees this beautiful piece of love and art! I can’t imagine how happy and seriously pleased her mom will be. I did see the quilt, the detailed stitching is amazing and something that Anna will appreciated when she grows up! The label is crazy awesome! You have given her memories that she will cherish the rest of her life and for now she will snuggle and enjoy every day. Just awesome, just awesome! I could go on and on, amazing!

Comments are closed.