WIP Wednesday-Mitered Squares!

I’ve had the book One Yard Wonders for a while now and haven’t made enough out of it. Super cute things, I tell you! Anyway, there’s a pattern for a mitered squares baby blanket and I’ve been drooling over a striped fabric at work.

We were almost out of it and I just happened to buy the last yard…add a little holiday project avoidance and…

Mitered Squares!

…presto! Mitered squares! I’ll let you stop and marvel at my precision piecing for a second.

Oh yeah. I'm impressed with myself. Many, many pins were involved.

After I’d finished up all the squares, I decided I loved them and I didn’t want to give them away, so I sashed them, added a border and viola!

Cute, right?

Yes, those are hair clips holding up my quilt. I was fresh out of husbands to hold it. I’m just going to go ahead and give myself a pat on the back for my ingenuity!

That’s all for now, I’m off to make my mother’s DELICIOUS cranberry sauce (from scratch) and eat myself silly. I hope everyone has a wonderful, peaceful and meaningful Thanksgiving!

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in Books, General Happiness, quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to WIP Wednesday-Mitered Squares!

  1. Bev C says:

    Hello Joanna,

    I came from Terri’s blog I was admiring the “Mug Mate” as one of my Aussie bloggers calls them. I found this stunning quilt you made, just love it. So lovely and bright.
    Happy days.
    Bev.xoxo

  2. Pingback: What a Clever Girl! « Terri’s Notebook

  3. Pingback: Three by Three | Homemade Pineapple Marshmallows's Blog

  4. sewing spots says:

    I love this one! It turned out very well. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

  5. Liz says:

    I was bedazzled by you precision. Is there a tip to this amazing talent?

  6. terriaw says:

    This is such a gorgeous quilt! I am so impressed with your precision piecing! You rock, girl!!! I think I may have some of this fabric, but never thought to use it like this. Very cool!

  7. Sandy says:

    Joanna:
    This is a beautiful piece of work.
    You are very talented and obviously love what you do.

  8. Joanna's Mom says:

    Joanna,
    I am SO incredibly impressed and blown away by this, you have NO idea! No matter what I do in needlework, this passes me standing still! It is absolutely gorgeous! Just a little hint – G-D’s Eye!
    You are amazing and so is this work of Art!

Comments are closed.