2010.

2010 was a hard year. A good year, but a hard year. I’ve been avoiding a 2010 recap because the thought of trying to put everything in one place was just too daunting. ::sigh:: I started this blog exactly one year ago to have some “positivity” in my life and heaven knows I needed it. I began last year sick as a dog, stayed sick as a dog, narrowly avoided sinus surgery (AGAIN) and had some serious run ins with my blood pressure. AND THEN I quit my job. I felt horrible. I felt like I abandoned my kids (I was a middle school teacher). I felt like I had nothing to contribute to anything. Life, work, whatever.

But my blog was there for me. My bloggy friends (and my dear, sweet, SERIOUSLY patient husband) were there for me. The theme? Positive, happy, friendly and…sewing. So, I threw myself into sewing. FULL FORCE. I did so much creatively in 2010! I learned how to quilt. I learned how to make a dress. I learned how to embroider. I GREW and THAT is what I’m going to remember about 2010. So, instead of rehashing what went wrong in 2010, I’m going to leave you with what went right.

I made:
7 quilts and 2 more quilt tops
4 placemats and more napkins than I care to count (I gave up trying to remember them all around 16)
3 burp cloths
4 tea towels
3 giant coasters
-6 gathered clutches
1 hooter hider
4 scarves
3 ornaments
5 pillowcases
7 months (I think) worth of bee blocks
1 dress
1 skirt
30 or so stitched cards
2 phone pouches
2 aprons
1 pillow
7 challah covers
1 pressing board
-various and sundry other craftiness (Go ahead, comb the blog! I did a lot more.)

Since making THIS mosaic took significantly more effort than it should have, you only get one. Here are my quilts (and one heart) of 2010.

Quilts 2010

Thank you for being you, thank you for being there and thank you for making me smile with your wonderful comments! Here’s to 2011.

P.S. There WILL be a giveaway. I’m thinking…next week?

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in Recap and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2010.

  1. Pingback: Blogiversary Giveaway! | Homemade Pineapple Marshmallows's Blog

  2. Liz says:

    Your 2010 seems full of positive outcomes. Roll on 2011. All the best.

  3. sewing spots says:

    What was it with 2010 anyway? A ‘delete’ key for some years would be good!

    Congrats on all your hard work! Ya done good! That’s quite a list of sewing accomplishments for the year 🙂

  4. terriaw says:

    WOW, you had a very creative and impressive 2010. Way to go in focusing on the positive and the fun. That’s my motto too. I adored everything you made, especially those quilts and THAT dress! Most of all, I am SO happy we became friends and grew our friendship through all that creativity. Here’s to a happy, positive, and creative 2011!

  5. kaye green says:

    Here’s to the good life that I hope surrounds you in 2011 and beyond! May all of your dreams come true and your happiness and health grow!
    Marvelous work! Look at all of the people you made happy!

Comments are closed.