Blogiversary Giveaway!

ONE YEAR. I can’t believe it’s been an ENTIRE year since I started blogging! I just did a crafty year-end recap, so I won’t go through all of that with you again. Instead, I’m going to re-post my VERY first post, ever.

And a change there shall be.

Posted on January 3, 2010 by Joanna

I ran into a friend tonight at the craft store on my way to get this thing (story to follow). She took one look at me and said “something has to change.” So here it is. I’ve been obsessively reading blogs for over a year and dreaming of my own but have been too chicken to try. I’m going to blog. I’m going to talk about my adventures into the unknown (homemade pineapple marshmallows perhaps?) and I’m going to change.

Here’s to the New Year!

Needless to say, it has been a big year. I’ve learned more about myself than I ever thought possible (AND I’m a pretty introspective person). I’ve made some truly dear friends. I’ve found a hobby that keeps my mind busy (HAH!). I’ve learned to find the “happy” (I’M GOING TO BE POSITIVE DAMNIT! DO YOU HEAR ME?! POSITIVE!) in just about every day. I’ve let the dark days be what they were going to be and left them where they were. I’ve grown. I’m genuinely proud of myself and what I’ve been able to create.

The funny thing about creating is…you never know what others will think. AND I KNOW, it doesn’t matter what other people think (just ask any Mommy out there) but I’m here to tell you, it matters to me. Sure, I’ve made a few things for people who LOVE me. These people wouldn’t tell me if my creation was ugly if their lives depended on it. I have wonderful friends and family. *grin*

I have a confession. I am NOT the most self-confident person. Wait, Joanna, this doesn’t sound positive. You’d never know it because I’m loud, I’m funny and I carry myself well. (Thanks, Mom! She owned a Cotillion-manners, etiquette, social graces, ballroom dancing, yadda yadda yadda.) Ok, Joanna, where are you going with this?

Gimme a sec. I’ll get there.

(Resume breathless Gilmore Girls style talking here.) I CANNOT fathom having something like an Etsy shop because I cannot IMAGINE someone WANTING something I made. I’ve been thinking about what I was going to giveaway for my blogiversary for at least a month. I’ve gone back and forth between gift certificates, fabric, notions…everything. The thing is, those things aren’t meaningful. If I’ve learned NOTHING else this year I’ve learned that doing something with MEANING behind it feels a whole lot better than doing something that doesn’t.

Here’s where we come full circle.

I’m going to give away something I MADE. Now, for those of you who think I’m nuts (there are a variety of reasons for this: you giveaway handmade things all the time, you happen to like my stuff, you know me fo’REAL…) PBBTH!!! (That would be me blowing a raspberry at you). This is a BIG deal for me! Even if just ONE person responds to this post, I will have succeeded in making something that someone else would WANT.

ALRIGHT ALREADY! Enough with the mushy! Here’s what’s up for grabs.

You all know (if you’ve read ANYTHING of mine over the last month) that I’m in LOVE with Noodlehead’s gathered clutch. I made one yesterday SPECIFICALLY for this giveaway! It features some of my favorite {read: hoarded} fabric and I really, really like it. Like enough to kee…never mind. Here’s the clutch!

::sigh:: pretty

Useful pockets!

Ooooh, ahhhhh! Look at the sweet clutch! Even if you are a “big bag” kind of gal (I am) this is perfect for a night out or even containing your makeup INSIDE of your big bag.

BUT WAIT (you must use your best tv infomercial announcer voice here) THERE’S MORE! As I mentioned earlier, my mother had a Cotillion while I was growing up. I have an (some would call unhealthy) obsession with stationary. I love writing thank you notes. One of my absolute FAVORITE things I learned to do this year was how to make my own stitched stationary.

Stitch-y!

You’ll get a whole stack of these! They’re so fabulous! No really, they are! I tuck them into bee block packages, write thank you notes on them and I even made teeny tiny ones for holiday present tags!

So whaddaya say? Do you want these? Leave me some love (tell your friends?) and I’ll pick two winners on Friday!

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in General Happiness, Giveaway and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Blogiversary Giveaway!

  1. daisysewing says:

    Happy One Year!! And here’s to many more 🙂

    And what an awesome giveaway!

    Take care, Julie

  2. Keri says:

    Hi Joanna,
    I found your blog from quiltdad’s blog a while back. You helped me pick out the fabric for my first quilt (which I’m planning on finishing up this weekend!) at WUAQ. I think your creations are beautiful!

  3. Toni Jurney says:

    Joanna,
    I love your blog! I especially love that you have found positive and creative ways to cope with the dark days. I’m struggling with my own dark days, and your enthusiasm gives me hope and courage. Maybe I’ll take a class on card making, or some other creative project. Right now, with the cold and snow,……I’m becoming a lump. Thank you for your inspiration! 🙂

  4. Kaye Green says:

    Hi Joanna,

    I am, of course disqualified, but I just want you to know how much I LOVE and use my clutch! Stationary…I have to admit that hardly a week goes by that I don’t use your stationary! I love the new designs that you have come up with. Let me know when you decide to sell them! People are asking me where I got it from! Love you!

  5. Susie-Knits says:

    Sent to your blog by Sewing Spot.
    Lovely work!

  6. Diana says:

    Girl…if only I had your creativity! I adore looking over your blog and seeing all of your fun projects. It is great to see something start as an idea at the beginning of your blog and then have you post the end result. You also are so inspiring because you are doing something you love and have fun with!

  7. TZel says:

    These are certainly beautiful! Thank you for sharing!

  8. Meghan says:

    Of course! Joanna, you make beautiful things 🙂

  9. sewing spots says:

    Ah, the ol’ external affirmation thing 🙂 Yes, I know that one all too well.

    You have been creating some marvelous things! Those clutches are totally nifty–love the colors on this one! I love notecards–I even have this thing about how well a pen glides on paper and went through a phase of using a fountain pen! My fingers were inky for awhile!

    “One on the way”…Yes, that is what my dh read over my shoulder in place of “the one who got away”. I thought ya’ll would get a kick out of that!

  10. Sarah says:

    Pick me! Pick me! You know I love you (and you got me into blogging, though sewing might be a stretch) and I love all the things you made…but even if I didn’t love you, I would still love your stuff ’cause it’s good stuff.

  11. Lauren says:

    I’ve loved reading about your adventures in quilting and getting insight into your life (and Andrew’s.) So cool to keep up with a high school friend this way, and to see where your creativity has taken you. Congratulations on a year–having a blog is wonderful! Especially when you can’t remember when something happened and go back to check old blog posts to get a date 🙂

  12. Jordan P says:

    Wow, I’ve never seen stitched stationery!! That’s gorgeous, congrats on one year!!

  13. Xandi says:

    I love your stitched stationary. And it (or maybe the napkins?) made me by variegated thread for the first time!

  14. terriaw says:

    I would love that gorgeous clutch made by you because it’s made by you! It’s also very beautiful and looks very well made. I also want those fabulous cards for the same reasons!

    You have something to say to the world, so I’m very happy you started your blog one year ago. Congratulations on such a grand milestone! I’m thrilled to know you and call you my friend! Thank you for inspiring me and always making me smile. Keep it up, girl!

Comments are closed.