Up and Running!!

The sewing room that is. After much discussion (and perhaps a little smack back down into reality) I have given up on my perfect sewing room, at least for the immediate future. One of these days it will be painted, coordinated and organized to the hilt! But for now, it IS functional.

Having said that, my hubby was a HUGE help making the space work for me! He single-handedly moved old furniture out and set up a big bookcase for my stash (rescued from the china cabinet)!

New (non-china cabinet) home!

He also helped me lug my Grandma’s antique vanity up the stairs (with TWO landings no less!) for my sewing table. It’s a special one. I’ve talked about Grandma before (my Featherweight came from her, too). She was such a wonderful woman. Vibrant, beautiful and ALWAYS the life of the party!

Grandma at my Bat-Mitzvah, 1997

One of my favorite things to do as a little girl was to watch my Grandma put on her “face” in the morning. She always sat at this vanity and the drawers provided me endless entertainment as I sifted through what seemed like an entire store’s worth of bottles, jars and wonderful makeup!

Grandma and me, lighting candles at my Bat-Mitzvah, 1997

While I’d love to fill it with makeup, I don’t have the dedication (or makeup stash!) that Grandma had. Even though, I’m SURE she’s smiling down watching me sew at her vanity! My Mom has the mirror frame that goes with it and I cannot WAIT for her to bring it up so I can turn it into a fun inspiration board!

Grandma's Vanity

I’ve got the ol’ six foot table set up for cutting and with a couple of nails for rulers, I’ve got an EXTREMELY useful space! We even found a great storage box from The Container Store to help me with all those little things that tend to spread out all over my sewing space.

Cutting table, rulers and new storage!

So, there it is! I’m up and sewing. I know that it will take some time for me to make it feel like my space, but I’m already enjoying it and LOVING having a real, dedicated place to sew. A place where I can cut and sew without moving things or sharing a table. A place where I can have my fabric, machine, notions and music all in one room. A place where I can shut the door and no one sees my threads, or scraps, or WIP’s…you get the picture. It’s going to be nice!

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in Nesting, Uncategorized, WIP and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Up and Running!!

  1. Meghan says:

    So jealous! What kind of goodies do you have in that container with the million drawers on your cutting table?

  2. Joanna's Mom says:

    Grandma’s smiling, I am smiling and what do you wanna bet your great grandparents are all smiling, too! What a beautiful space, for a beautiful person, to call your own!

  3. sewing spots says:

    It looks great! Enjoy!

  4. terriaw says:

    Yippee, so happy to see you are up and running again! I love your new space. Love that fabulous bookcase and table space too. I can just imagine all the fun you’re going to have here!

Comments are closed.