Sneaky Peaky!

I’m not done yet but I’m WELL on my way! January was my month in my VQB, The Bee in My Bonnet. I asked for Dresden Plates out of Joel Dewberry’s Modern Meadow with Kaufman quilter’s linen for the circle (We used Elizabeth Hartman’s Tutorial). My hubby (honestly, the nicest, most understanding man on the planet) made plastic templates for everyone in the bee and I sent those along with the fabric.  I swear I did a happy dance at the mailbox every couple of days! The girls sent me back some BEAUTIFUL blocks!

Then I did nothing. Actually, I tried to sew a shirt with the MPB Negroni Sew Along and got creatively sidetracked but that’s a story for another day. H’anyways, I spent the last several weeks trying to decide on a layout and figure out numbers but nothing seemed right. I mean, I LOOOOVE Dresden Plates but I HHHHAAATTE the traditional layouts. I feel like that grid sucks all the cute out of the blocks (I mean, I’m sure the one YOU made is gorgeous…) and I just wasn’t feeling it. Why didn’t I think of this before? Because I’m Joanna, Queen of Hindsight!

Luckily, I had a fantastic afternoon with my local bee buddies and inspiration (and a BEAUTIFUL hardwood floor-thanks Kim!) struck!

Layout

But that’s not the best part…I decided on pieced sashing. 300 some-odd itty bitty blocks later…I’m a glutton for punishment. The funny thing is, I mentioned this idea to the Hubster (before I just went ahead and jumped right in) and he raised an eyebrow at me. The raised eyebrow must have meant “that’s going to be a LOT of work” but, unfortunately for me, I didn’t understand the ramifications of 10 blocks worth of 2 inch patchwork sashing. This, my friends, is why I have amazing projects. Not because I am super talented, but because I just do things without understanding. By the time I DO grasp the complexity I’m too far in the project to back out.

The picture speaks for itself. I'm an idiot.

I’ve got 10 blocks on the front and I’m going to put one on the back and one in a pillow. It still needs a couple more large white triangles at the top and bottom and a couple of borders. I think I’m going to keep it all white space…we’ll see.

So pretty!!

LOTS of white space. I’m a little bit massively worried about all the white mixing with my two doggies and the claypit we call a back yard (again, with the hindsight!) but I’m going for it. No guts, no glory…right?

I can't wait to finish!

OF COURSE I don’t have enough white fabric to finish the top (calculation, schmalculation!) so I’m waiting for more of the Kona White to come in and THEN I’ll get you some better pictures!

In the meantime-drool a little. I’m LOVING these!

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in Bee Blocks, quilts, WIP and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sneaky Peaky!

  1. Pingback: Dresden Daydreams | Homemade Pineapple Marshmallows's Blog

  2. Shelia says:

    WOW! Gorgeous…can’t wait to see it finished.

  3. Lana says:

    Ok! I LOVE THAT! You are so cute! That is going to finish so pretty, you won’t let anyone TOUCH IT!
    GREAT JOB!

  4. daisysewing says:

    Wow! It’s going to be stunning!!

    My month was in the summer.. and I still haven’t done much with the blocks because I keep going back and forth on sashing… but I need to run with your inspiration. I don’t have the patience to do scrappy sashing, but it looks gorgeous on your quilt!

  5. Joanna's Mom says:

    Absolutely brilliant! Enjoy!

  6. terriaw says:

    Love this! I adore the patchwork sashing you added – definitely worth all your effort. I love dresden plate blocks too. Great choice to have your bee partners help you make the rest for this fabulous quilt!

Comments are closed.