FREAKING AWESOME (almost) Friday!

*I wrote this post and scheduled it for Friday, then I saw this. The Marshmallow crew will be silent on Friday.

I can’t believe it’s been almost two weeks since I’ve blogged! It’s been go, go, go around here lately and everything is fantastic (feel free to want to kick me here, I’m bordering on annoying myself sounding like this, too)! Anyway, I got to see the elusive sister and fiance courtesy of their 18 hour round trip drive (we love you two!), my yoga mat bag is getting plenty of use, I’ve been to THREE hockey games (I love ’em even though my Canes need some SERIOUS work!) and I even busted out my Rainbow flip flops yesterday. SQUEE!! (That’s the noise of a VERY happy southern girl wiggling her freshly pedicured tootsies in my fave flips!) I was so excited I forgot to snap a picture! Oh well.

In other freaking awesome news, I got my mitts on a layer cake and two charm packs of the sweetest little Pips ya ever did see! I don’t have a plan for them at the moment (shock, gasp!) but I imagine someone will get pregnant soon and then I’ll formulate my strategy.

Seriously? How adorable are they? And again, forgive the picture...bad lighting in the sewing room strikes again.

You see, we’ve hit that time in our lives where the weddings are a-plenty (we’re averaging 4+ a summer) and the babies are just starting to appear. (I know they don’t just appear…but that’s what it feels like to me!) I imagine in the next couple of years I’ll have PLENTY of baby quilts to make and I’m PSYCHED that I’ll be ready with SUPER adorable fabric!

Now for the freaking-est, awesome-est (take that grammar!) news yet…my March Bee Blocks! Jen sent out some of Heather Ross’ Spoonflower fabric with the sweetest pink and green coordinates. I thought I’d be sick of pink and green after this but as it turns out, I still love it. Perhaps not to reside in my house forever and ever…but it IS super happy and very springy! She requested one block with the mushrooms and one with the gnomes and then let us go free! The mushroom block was easy. I imagined the zig-zags with the mushrooms growing out of seams every which way as soon as I saw the fabric. I even calculated it all out! I was wrong, of course, and consequently ended up needing two more rows and columns but the effort was there! (Damn that seam allowance-gets me every time!) Lots of seams and little triangles later, I’m very happy with the result.

Zig-y

The gnomes were a different story. I thought of doing a block like this and it would have been really cute. Or one like this, but it was a little small (she wanted 12.5″ and it is 8.5″) and we all know how I do with math. Then I had an epiphany. It was glorious! I LOVE the little “chompers” (actually they’re called “Gnome Be Gone“) at Uncommon Goods. I ADORE that shop and they save my tail every single holiday. (No, they don’t sponsor me…I REALLY do love them!) Great products, phenomenal customer service, you just can’t get any better than them! ANYWAY, as soon as I saw the gnomes, I thought of them being hauled off by some sweet little chomp-y guys.

Do you hear drums in the background too?

I was stoked. I told my husband (btw-he does NOT share my love of the chompers). I danced around the room and giggled like a little girl. I started thinking about how I’d do it AND THEN that little voice kicked in. “Wait a second…if she LIKES gnomes, chances are she doesn’t want them hauled off by maniacal looking, steel chomp-y things.” Shit. And then the other voice chimed in…”Who cares?” (I know, my other voice is very self-serving.)

The more friendly voice won out and I sent Jen an e-mail. Turns out I’d be a quilting goddess if I could figure out how to make that into a quilt block (her words, not mine).

Dude, I’m always up for a challenge and I may just have a little bit of a competitive streak.

Dum da dum dum DUUUUMMMMM!!

I win. Not like Charlie Sheen, mind you, but still, I win! See the fluffy clouds and sweet little kite meant to distract you from the obvious gnome-napping going on? Muah hah hah hah! (Can you tell I’m a little stuck on myself today?)

I. love. them.

Jen’s lucky I have a guilty conscience. I SERIOUSLY wanted to keep these and frame them and hang them on my wall. They were NOT easy to make and there was much cussing involved (really, what project of mine doesn’t have that?) but these were difficult on a whole different level. Appliqueing, satin-stitching around tiny stick limbs (STUPID JOANNA, TRULY STUPID), embroidering…for all that white space it took FOREVER to make this block. I’m in love though. And they’re winging their gnome-stealing little behinds up to Canada. ::sigh:: I hope you love them, Jen!

That’s all I’ve got for now, Happy Friday y’all!!

About Joanna

I married the "one who got away" and try to remember how lucky I am each and every day.
This entry was posted in Bee Blocks, Bees, embroidery, fabric and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to FREAKING AWESOME (almost) Friday!

  1. Rachel says:

    I LOVE your gnome block! Awesome!!!

  2. Lucy says:

    I LOVE your quilt block! This is just fabulous!

  3. Totally cute!!! And totally fun! hehehe

  4. Joanna's Mom says:

    Genius- you are pure genius! Freaking awesome girl…I love it! I love Gnomes, but I love it!!! Amazingly difficult feat. Mind you I would have had to do all that by hand, but if I had thought about this – I would have done it!

  5. Jennifer says:

    Joanna, I found your blog while browsing the quilting bee blocks on flickr. So fun! I will definitely be back. I see that you’re a souther girl- I am too- in Charlotte. Are you in Raleigh?? If you get a chance, I would love for you to stop by my blog sometime too. 🙂

  6. Jen says:

    I stand by my claim — you are a quilting goddess for making that block. It’s incredibly awesome and I LOVE it!!!

  7. Heather Gill says:

    I GET IT NOW! The garden gnome take away thingie!!!! I think I was looking at it from the wrong angles on the sheet! Very cute!

Comments are closed.